How To Remove “Move To Dropbox” From Context Menu

Dropbox is an extremely well-known name in the field of individual cloud storage. Millions of PC and smart device users are actively utilizing Dropbox as the main place to save their digital information. Dropbox app is offered to all leading computer system and mobile os.

When you install the Dropbox desktop client in Windows 7, Windows 8 or Windows 10, it adds Move to Dropbox alternative to the context menu (right-click menu). In easy words, when Dropbox program is installed, you’ll see Move to Dropbox choice when you right-click on a file or folder.

The alternative is handy as we can just right-click on a file or folder and then click the Move to Dropbox alternative to rapidly submit the file to our Dropbox account without having to open the Dropbox client.

Eliminate Move to Dropbox from context menu

The Move to Dropbox alternative is available in useful for users who actively publish files to Dropbox but the same choice may not be so beneficial for users who utilize the Dropbox every so often to create backup of their essential files.

Users who do not utilize the Move to Dropbox alternative really often might want to eliminate it. Since there is no choice exist under Dropbox settings to hide or remove Move to Dropbox option from the context menu of files and folders, here is how to eliminate Move to Dropbox choice from the right-click menu in Windows.

KEEP IN MIND 1: It appears that the Move to Dropbox option also appears in Mac OS X however this guide is for Windows just.

NOTE 2: There is another technique that needs you unregister DropboxExt25.dll and DropboxExt64.25.dll file utilizing the elevated timely. But considering that the technique is not extremely straight-forward, we are not explaining the method here.

Technique 1 of 2 to disable Move to Dropbox from context menu

Step 1: The first step is to stop the Dropbox program, if it’s running. To end the program, right-click on the Dropbox icon in the system tray to see the small dialog, click on the Settings icon and then click Exit Dropbox choice.

Action 2: Next, right-click on the Dropbox shortcut on the desktop and click Properties.

And if there is no faster way on the desktop, please develop one.

Action 3: Under the Shortcut tab, click the Target box.

Step 4: Add “-move-to-dropbox=False” (without quotes) switch at the end of the default target text. This is how the target text must look like after adding the above text.

Step 5: Finally, click Apply button. Now introduce the Dropbox by double-clicking on the desktop icon or browsing from the Start menu and then right-click on a file or folder to see the context menu without the frustrating Move to Dropbox choice.

Go for this method if the above discussed workaround is not dealing with your computer system. In this approach, we use the popular CCleaner software (complimentary) as it consists of options to get rid of unwanted entries from the context menu.

Action 1: Download CCleaner and get it installed, if it’s not already installed.

Action 2: Fire up CCleaner. Browse to Tools, click Startup, and after that change to Context menu tab.

Step 3: Here, choose DropboxExt entry and then click the Disable button to eliminate Move to Dropbox alternative from the context menu.

You require to restart your computer as soon as to see the modification.

In order to allow the Move to Dropbox alternative once again, please run CCleaner program once again, browse to Tools, Startup, and Context menu tab, choose DropboxExt entry (if there multiple entries, please all of them) and after that click Enable button. Restart your computer system. That’s it!

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


*